Header Bild


PhD Programme on Mine Health and Safety

The programme is initially installed at four leading European mining universities: Clausthal University of Technology (Germany), Luleå University of Technology (Sweden), RWTH Aachen University (Germany) and Montanuniversität Leoben (Austria).


The intended 3‐year‐programme consists of two pillars with


1)        PhD programme at the home university

2)       PhD courses given at the partner university locations (2 courses per year).

Subjects for the research projects are chosen in close collaboration with SafeMine`s industrial partners and a number of affiliated companies, equipment manufacturers and additional stakeholders with interest in Mine Health and Safety. In addition to a clear focus on current mining industry´s challenges innovative learning and teaching approaches fostering students’ self‐centred learning are considered in the curriculum.